Instagram: a parent’s guide

Tips to pass on to your children on the responsible – and safe – use of Instagram

Instagram is a simple photo app. It's used to capture special moments and then to carry on conversations with other users. You can use filters,  captions, emoticons and hashtags alongside the photos. It's a way of talking about things and sharing interests. You can post on mobile devices (phones and tablets) while images and comments are viewable on the online version. It is owned by Facebook.

What is Instagram?

Instagram is an app that allows you to take a picture directly on the app or import one from the album on your phone. You can then choose to apply filters and other photo-enhancing tools to customise the image. After that, you add a caption and then share with your followers. You can post video, short 'Stories' of multiple images and message Instagram friends privately on the app.

If your kids are using Instagram, the best way for you to learn about it is to ask them how it works. Children are often glad to teach their parents about their favorite tech tools, and it's a great way to learn about the app itself and also how they interact with their friends in social media. That will depend on their own preferences and how their friends behave, but here's some general information about using and staying safe in Instagram:

Instagram Stories and Go Live

Instagram has a stories feature, similar to Snapchat. Users can take photos and videos, apply filters and location geo-tags and then post them to their Instagram story. They can also upload older photos from their camera roll to their story and it will stay viewable for 24 hours. Users are told when someone takes a screen shot of their story.

Users can also opt to ‘Go Live’ and stream whatever they are doing to their followers. 

If the person’s Instagram is public and is popular with hundreds of viewers, then it may show up on the ‘Popular’ page encouraging others to watch the stream too. Viewers can send comments to the person streaming and send heart emojis to show appreciation for the video. Users can set their account to be viewed by friends only to avoid their videos going public.

‘If your kids are using Instagram and you never have, ask them how it works’

Once the Instagram live stream is over, it will stay viewable to users as part of an Instagram Story, unless the person who posted it chooses to delete it.

Your Activity

As of August 2018 Facebook and Instagram have launched a feature that enables you to see just how much time you spend on their mobile apps. You can do this on Instagram by going to Settings > Your Activity.

The feature gives you an overview of your usage for the last 7 days as well as a daily average, allowing you to identify excessive days. It also gives you the option to set a daily reminder, enabling you to set time limits for yourself ranging from 1 minute to 12 hours. Once you’ve reached your limit you will be sent a notification, although this can be ignored.

This is part of an effort by Facebook and Instagram to tackle social media over usage. While it won’t stop your child indulging excessively on social media, it may help make them more aware of just how much time they are spending on these apps.

Responsible photo-sharing

  • You control your privacy. By default, photos you share in Instagram can be seen by anyone, but you can change that. Tap the Profile button on the bottom right. Then, select the gear button in the upper right corner, scroll down to Privacy and security and select Account privacy and check Private account. Now, only people you approve can see your posts. (Android users, tap Profile and Edit your profile. Be sure 'Photos are Private' is checked.) If you update or reinstall the software, make sure your settings are still the way you want them.
  • Privacy can't be perfect. Even if your photos are private, your profile is public (anyone can see your profile photo, username and bio). You can add up to 10 lines of text about yourself and a link to a website if you want to, so you may want to talk to your children about what's appropriate here.
  • Respect other people’s privacy. If someone else is in a photo you post, make sure that person's OK with your sharing or tagging them in it.
  • Your posting has impact. Think about how a photo you post affects others – whether they're in the photo or not. Sometimes it’s the friends not in the photo who can be hurt, because they weren’t included.
  • Think about location-sharing. The 'Add to your Photo Map' feature gives you the option of adding a location to a photo. It's turned off by default, but it’s 'sticky' – so, once turned on, it stays on until you turn it off. You can always turn it back on, but for each picture you share, think about whether you really want people to know where you snapped it.
  • Sharing beyond Instagram. By default, you're sharing your photos only on Instagram but, after cropping and enhancing, you have the option to share a photo more widely on email, Facebook, Twitter or Tumblr. If you do share elsewhere, be aware of the privacy settings on that service. For example, unless your Twitter profile is private, your image will be shared to everyone. Facebook's default setting is to share Instagram photos to friends only, but after you share a photo on Facebook, you can change that setting in Facebook by selecting it and changing the audience.

How you represent yourself

  • Your photos represent you. That probably seems obvious, but remember they can keep on representing you well into the future, because content posted online or with phones is pretty impossible to take back, so it's a good idea to think about how photos you post now will reflect on you down the line. If you think a photo might hurt a job prospect, damage a relationship or upset your grandmother, consider not sharing it.
  • Manage your profile. Your photos appear in the Photos of You section of your profile. They can be visible to anyone unless your account is private. Others can tag you in photos they take, but if you don't like a photo, you can hide it from your profile or untag yourself (it'll still be visible on Instagram but not associated with your screen name and not in your profile). If you don't want photos to appear in Photos of You automatically, you can prevent that by turning off 'Add Automatically' by clicking on the Gear button and choosing 'Add Manually.' (Android users, tap the Photos Of You tab, then the three small squares.)
  • Consider the whole photo. The background of a photo could indicate where the picture was taken or what the people in it were doing at the time. Is that information you want to convey?
  • Your photos could show up anywhere. Remember that anything digital can be copied and shared by others. So even if you limit the audience, be careful not to share anything that could be a problem if someone were to pass it around.

Further reading

Instagram safety centre

Instagram: FAQs for parents

 

The advice published on Parent Info is provided by independent experts in their field and not necessarily the views of Parent Zone or NCA-CEOP.

First published: May 2014

Updated: September 2016

Updated: October 2016

Checked: May 2018

Updated August 2018

 

 

All rights reserved.

Games, apps and tech

Color: 
Purple